Skip to main content
RegioStars Regio Stars

Welcome to the REGIOSTARS Awards 2020 online submission platform

The REGIOSTARS Awards are a yearly competition, organised by the European Commission’s Directorate General for Regional and Urban Policy. It aims at identifying good practices in regional development and highlighting innovative, EU-funded projects, which could be attractive and inspiring to other regions and project managers



There are five REGIOSTARS Award categories for 2020


  • Industrial transition for a Smart Europe Smart growth
  • Circular economy for a green Europe Sustainable growth
  • Skills & Education for a digital Europe Inclusive growth
  • Citizens engagement for cohesive European cities Urban development
  • Youth empowerment for cooperation across borders Topic of the year 2020: 30 Years of Interreg
  • Applications must be submitted by the project manager with the endorsement of the Managing Authority, which provided EU funding (European regional development fund, Cohesion fund, European Social Fund, Pre-accession instrument or European Neighbourhood Instrument) for the project.

  • Applications cannot be sent in a Word document, but have to be submitted exclusively via this online platform.

  • Endorsement letter - simplified procedure possible - please read the updated Guide for Applicants.

This platform is accessible from 2 March to 9 May 2020.

Please read the guide for applicants carefully before submitting your project.
The information should preferably be provided in English, but can also be submitted in any other official EU language if necessary.

For more information on the REGIOSTARS Awards:

For any enquiry about the application process, please send an email to: